Enquiry for changing courses

I am a DP1 student studying IB in China. Currently I am doing English A2 as my group 2. I would like to change A2 to B(Our teacher is frustrating us..so offensive but true). Though the school officials said it is not possible, one of my classmates even switched between Art and economic just few weeks ago. I wonder if there is any restriction regarding switching courses.

Thanks!

Guest Soiboist

The IBO does not restrict against changing courses until you have actually signed up for the exams, so obviously it is still allowed by them. However your school might have some sort of policy that restricts late changes, but as a student changed just a few weeks ago you should definitely ask them why you're not allowed to change. Ask if the school has a general policy for subject changes, such as that you may not change after a certain date, and if there is no one just refer to that a student was allowed a change just a few weeks ago, and so you should also be allowed. Keep in mind that it is rather late though, and you might need to catch up even though that you're changing to an easier course.

The IBO does not restrict against changing courses until you have actually signed up for the exams, so obviously it is still allowed by them. However your school might have some sort of policy that restricts late changes, but as a student changed just a few weeks ago you should definitely ask them why you're not allowed to change. Ask if the school has a general policy for subject changes, such as that you may not change after a certain date, and if there is no one just refer to that a student was allowed a change just a few weeks ago, and so you should also be allowed. Keep in mind that it is rather late though, and you might need to catch up even though that you're changing to an easier course.

Thanks a lot, it's from A2 to B...So it shouldn't be a big thing. for us B is just like IELTS.

• 3 weeks later...