How to write a more complicated thesis statement?

crazian

I'm a suffering IB english student in my second semester of Junior year.

We've read many novels, and I read them all, and took notes on all of them.

However, when it comes time to writing an essay or giving an oral presentation, all my thesis topics are too simple, and everytime I get a bad grade because of this reason.

How do you make your thesis more complicated?

Here's an example of 2 essays I wrote earlier in the year. The first one got an A since it was simple and it was the beginning of the year.

The second one got a C because the thesis was too simple, which wrecked the whole paper, and I've been getting C's on my papers and orals since.

So how do you use higher level thinking while analyzing a book to make a thesis statement?

Spoiler - Click me!

Martinique was being occupied by France for some time before it obtained its own independence. Throughout this occupation, France was forcing its own culture on the citizens of Martinique. To bring back some Creole culture, Patrick Chamoiseau wrote School Days which celebrated the many ways of what it is to be Creole through unique characterization, descriptive setting, and the beauty of the Creole language by having Creole culture outshine the negativity of French culture.