Oral Commentary

AllyB

Hey,

I have my official oral commentary coming up in a few weeks and was wondering if anyone could give some advice!

So some queries of mine:

- How should I structure the presentation?

- What are good things I should definitely mention? i.e, should I put emphasis on historical context of novel etc.

- How can I best put to use the 20 mins I have to prepare? Should I work line by line from the extract or focus on literary techniques?

Also, it would be helpful if anyone had studied the novels I am studying. If so, could you give me some themes/pointers?

So far, I have studied:

- Washington Square by Henry James

- A Mother's Disgrace by Robert Dessaix

- The Winter's Tale by William Shakespere

- Poems by Judith Wright

Of course, people won't be studying the same exact works as I, but if you know them I could use your advice!

Thanks.

Hey,

I have my official oral commentary coming up in a few weeks and was wondering if anyone could give some advice!

So some queries of mine:

- How should I structure the presentation?

- What are good things I should definitely mention? i.e, should I put emphasis on historical context of novel etc.

- How can I best put to use the 20 mins I have to prepare? Should I work line by line from the extract or focus on literary techniques?

Also, it would be helpful if anyone had studied the novels I am studying. If so, could you give me some themes/pointers?

So far, I have studied:

- Washington Square by Henry James

- A Mother's Disgrace by Robert Dessaix

- The Winter's Tale by William Shakespere

- Poems by Judith Wright

Of course, people won't be studying the same exact works as I, but if you know them I could use your advice!

Thanks.

Some tips:

I would NOT recommend discussing the historical context of the novel generically, unless it specifically relates to the extract you get.