History HL or philosophy SL?

peiyao

I already have 3 hls, math chem and english. I am not good at english so I'm just wondering if I take philosphy sl instead of histroy HL, is it actually going to be even harder for me? But I've heard that histroy hl is very time consuming and i'm already taking 3 hls. So i'm just wondering what are the differences between these two? And I'm thinking about becoming an engineer so neither will help me,just need a course to complete the diploma.

Philosophy SL I don't actually think is helpful for TOK. Philosophy is analytical intelligent semi-BS whereas TOK is just... well, full on BS. In the nicest sense!

Anyway, History HL is a more difficult subject than Philosophy, for sure. If you're relatively thoughtful and logical AND good at writing essays, Philosophy is a walk in the park. I took it and it was crazy easy plus it has a few interesting aspects so I'd recommend it :) History requires rigid essay structure and a load of memorising, whereas for Philosophy you just have to know the gists of various famous arguments/ideas, be able to explain them and apply them to what you're talking about in a critical way. If you're good at memorising discrete facts, go for History. If you tend to remember just the gist of things, go for Philosophy. Basically the main skill in Philosophy is understanding, applying and articulating viewpoints. Viewpoints being, of course, theories and logical arguments, as opposed to TOK view points which are just whatever you happen to invent in your head!

I already have 3 hls, math chem and english. I am not good at english so I'm just wondering if I take philosphy sl instead of histroy HL, is it actually going to be even harder for me? But I've heard that histroy hl is very time consuming and i'm already taking 3 hls. So i'm just wondering what are the differences between these two? And I'm thinking about becoming an engineer so neither will help me,just need a course to complete the diploma.

Hi,