Higher Level Mathematics Enquiry Thread

pedza

I have been reading into the IB programme and the subjects that my school has assigned to me for the next two years, and the one that worries me mostly is Maths HL. I am a good maths student but whilst speaking to other people and reading this forum I have gotten the impression that the subject is quite difficult and challenging, but also I have some questions.

1) Discreet mathematics; series and differential equations; sets, relations and groups; statistics and probability. Shall my Maths HL class encompass all of those or only one or a few? Are they all needed to pass the IB Maths HL exam?

2) Considering the difficulty of the subject, should I make an effort during this summer to prepare by going into some of the topics which are going to be covered? Where can I find resources online for Maths HL?

3) Is it really too difficult to get the needed 66% on an exam to get a 7?

1. You only do 1 of those :)

2. If you want you can start reading your textbook. What did you study before? Like, did you take any course like GCSE or such? If not, I suggest going through IGCSE Additional Maths past papers available at freeexampapers.com they are the basic of Math HL, although there are topics in IB that are not in A-Math IGCSE.

3. Very subjective. Depends on how good you are. I myself would say it's easy but it's highly subjective so I wouldn't talk much about this.

If you like you can try taking 4 HL including math first so as you go along if you feel that math HL is too difficult you can just drop it to SL and still have 3 HL. if you are doing fine then just drop your 4th HL that you don't feel is very important.

• Like 3

My school does not let you choose your IB subjects because it's a state-run school. It only offers: Maths HL, A1 language HL, B language HL, Chemistry SL, Geography SL and Visual Arts SL; so I won't have the option of dropping Maths HL.