how to get motivation for college?

bigbangfan

ok, so after two intense years of study I finally graduated from IB, last november 2010. I really looked forward to starting college and was excited about it, but now, I transformed into a lazy bugger and don´t study at all. This surprises me because I studied a lot for IB and was very organized. Now I feel that I didn´t take advantage of IB study skills or topics in math this first semester of college and I don´t really see that great basis that IB provides for college. I can´t find motivation at all to study and I´m getting bad grades (especially math). I bug all the time and don´t get to manage my time as I did for IB. How can I solve this problem? thanks for your time :)

Ironically being able to make yourself study is one of the values the IB is meant to have helped us all with, but I'm going to say I felt much the same as you when I was in my first year at Uni (which was only last year, before I sound ancient!). I think the IB made me think there'd be a syllabus for everything and you could potentially learn it all with the people teaching you intent on making sure you've learned what they're going to ask about, but actually my experience of Uni is that you've half the time only got the general idea of what they might ask you about, but most of it is guesswork!

Basically the only thing I could find to motivate me was fear. When I thought I might fail my first year I freaked out and worked like crazy. Also remember Uni stuff is hard and it's also intense. You're given maybe an hour's lecture to learn something you would have spent a week doing for IB, you have no one:one contact (or very little, unless you're privileged enough to be at Oxbridge), often you have the theory with no examples or just one or two AND you're expected to teach it yourself plus a bit extra just because. So use the fact that you need to have mastered the contents of your lectures AS A MINIMUM as a springboard to freaking out :P