Help on subject choice for a later degree in mechanical engineering

DDuino

hello guys..after my pre ib i am off to the IB diploma now in september...but still not sure what exactly to take when applying for the mechanical engineering in UK...their main requirements are always Maths and Physics HL...but i have been told chemistry HL is really relevant...is that truth?i am not good at chemistry i am very **** in it so i dont wanna take it...would you say it makes a different for later?

also my subject choice would be:

HL maths, physics, English A2

SL SloveneA1, phylosophy, anthropology/or third language....

What would you say???anthropology or a third language???would it look bad when applying having 3 languages if you are off to do engineering???i would actually need some advices in this from you

thanks a lot

Chemistry is definitely relevant to, but generally not required for a degree in Mechanical Engineering.

However, I would recommend taking it as your third SL, instead of anthropology. Having two sciences will look better than having two humanities/three languages when applying for an engineering course.

• Like 1

yup, I agree with Sammie.

the requirements for Engineering is normally math HL and physics/chemistry HL. most of the time physics HL is preferred over chemistry HL. having chemistry HL/SL might be useful, but if you don't like it, don't take it.

I wanted to do ME too and chose math and physics HL with chemistry SL because at that time I liked chemistry. now in IB I don't like chem anymore, I can guarantee that you will hate IB chemistry too, so don't take it if you don't want to. ME is not so much related to chem like Chemical Eng.