Chemistry HL

youcantstopthebeat

Hey everyone...

This is my first year of IB and I just started a few weeks ago, and I'm beginning to feel like I've made bad subject choices...

I'm doing HL English, History and Chemistry, and SL Chinese, Maths and Biology.

Although I've decided to take Chemistry HL, but I'm considering changing to Biology HL. Although both Chemistry and Biology were my best subjects last year in Year 10 (Chemistry more so), I've found Chemistry pretty hard so far (even though it's only a few weeks in!). The concepts are alright once you get the hang of it, but I'm not so sure that it would help me get a good score at the end of the IB course. Many things confuse me and in order to understand things I have to do a lot of rereading etc, and even then I don't quite grasp some things!

On top of that, my teacher happily informed us that this year the Chemistry HL (and SL?) course has been revised and is harder than last year's course, which makes me more reluctant to continue it!

I'd be grateful if anyone could give me some advice! Is anyone else also doing the new Chemistry course this year? Or is there anyone who has done Chemistry HL in the past and can give their opinion? Some people have told me that the concepts are hard at the start, but by the end of it it's not too bad... but based on other things I've read on the internet about Chemistry HL (yes, I have been frantically searching the internet for the past hour looking for things that might comfort me, or deter me from Chemistry HL!) and other people's opinions, Chemistry HL is beginning to seem like a deathtrap!

Please, please PLEASE post soon as I need to make my decision soon... given that I can actually change if I decide to (it's already quite a few weeks in and I don't know if I'll be able to).

Hmmm... I would say only take chemistry if you really need it for the future - i.e. if you plan on doing medicine or chemistry at university