Extended Essay- Group 1

Prowess

Hey fellow IB peers!

I'm just beginning my Extended Essay ( 1st year) and am choosing my topic in English.

How would it work if I pick to books: one Utopian and the other Dystopian, and compare the themes in the two books. I know that there are very noticeable comparisons by the same author in both books.

So my topic would be like: "A comparison between Utopian and Dystopian views in _____ and ______ by _________. Is this too general; will I have to pick one specific theme? I'm not sure that I will have enough to write on that particular theme. I'm thinking, if possible, to narrow it down to the Views on Drugs an Alcohol in two classic novels.

All help is appreciated. Feel free to share your EE topics in this thread too.

Peace, and study safe!

(sigh)

Take my word for it, the utopian-dystopian idea has been done to death. To absolute, unequivocal, irreversible death. If you scour the EE forum on this website and look through previous posts on English EEs, you will find that out of 10, maybe 3 or 4 were centred around the idea of utopias and dystopias in very clichés novels to boot.

Your 'narrower' idea on Drugs and Alcohol however has some merit. But actually, since you're into classics, maybe looking into the idea of smoking, from cigarettes to cigars and eventually snuff. How these elements are used to give a certain understated depth to characters in certain settings? I'm just jumping with ideas (an essay on smoking in Mad Men would be awesome!!), do what you think would make you happy.

Arrowhead.