Can a non-native speaker do English A1?

Fani

Hey everyone!

It's my first year in IB diploma program (started 3 weeks ago).

Right now my classes are:

HL

Modern Greek A1

German B

History

SL

Economics

Math

Biology

So the only actual english class I have is History (all my SL classes are taught by Greek teachers with terrible accents and grammar :P and some of them are even having their classes in Greek! )

So I've been thinking to trade my Modern Greek with English but standard level and raise my economics to HL.

I'm not a native speaker, my mothertogues are Greek and German.

But I learned English in 3 years time (I have the Cambridge C2 certificate), I'm generally a fast learner. And I'm positive that having English A1 is definitely going to help my with my SAT I, SAT II (literature) as well as debating (I'm in my school's forensics club).

So what do you think?

Is a 7 in English A1 doable for a person who is not a native speaker?

A 7 in English A1 (or any A1 to be perfectly honest) is a crazy thing to get. It's very difficult to obtain, especially if you're not a native speaker. That being said, there is no reason as to why you can't do English as your A1. You clearly have a good grasp of the language and I'm sure that by the time your exams come around, your analytical skills will improve and you will be able to score well if you work hard.

It's easier to get a 7 in standard level than higher level, so perhaps a 7 IS within reach. But, it would require SO much effort and work. You should try and make sure your World Literature, IOP and IOC (or whatever the orals are called in the new syllabus :P) are amazing, so that your final exams don't have to count for as much. English is really turning into a universal language, so it's always a good idea to excel in it. Good luck :)