university choices

IntellectualBadAss

Hi, I have a few questions regarding about university.

1) i'm a canadian citizen, is it worth it to pay $50k+ a year to go to like UC? (berkeley, UCLA, etc)

2) how many IB points do i need to get accepted to UBC or U of T?

3) If you've been accepted to UBC, U of T or McGill, pleeeeeease share your IB points!

what is the predicted mark based on anyway? thaaaaaaank you so much! i'm new to IB so there are a lot i'm unclear about :S

For #1, to be honest, if you live in Canada it's probably not worth it to move and have to pay more for American universities, at least not for your undergrad. At this point don't worry about prestige because most universities will provide you with a good education. When you get a master's or Ph.D (should you decide to) employers will usually look at where you got that from, rather than where you did your undergrad.

Unless the university you're looking at has a certain program that isn't available anywhere else, in which case ignore what I just said.

For #s 2 and 3, I haven't really done any university preparation yet, so I'm not quite sure about those. I know that UBC really likes IB students though and they apparently accept the most IB students out of any universities, so there's that.

visit their website and look for it yourself. if you don't know their website, simply google the university name.

I'm not doing the searching&looking up for you because I always find out more information than what I wish to get whenever I visit a university's website, so it's worth checking for yourself.