Do UK universities accept Partial IB students?

Julia B.

Jus to clarify, I'm a full IB student (Diploma), but I've been debating lately whether I would benefit from dropping to partial IB (Certificate) or not. I'm currently in my last year, and I take Geography, History and English HLs and Math and Biology SLs. I hate hate hate Bio, and while Math is okay it does take up a lot of my time. I would rather concentrate more on my HLs instead of working my ass off to get a good mark in a Math test or sitting through two hours of tedious Bio class.

I thought about dropping Bio and Math and only sticking with my HLs (plus Portuguese SL, which is self-taught and quite enjoyable). I talked to some people who had dropped from full to partial IB, and they all got into universities here in Canada. I want to go to the UK, though, so I'm not sure how that would work. We aren't required to take Math in grade 12 here in BC, and I honestly believe I could improve my GPA if I didn't have to know matrices.

Does anyone know if it's possible to get accepted into UK universities without taking Math 12? That's my main concern, really, because I plan to major in Medieval History and would certainly not need Math for that. Or Bio, for that matter.

My first choice of university is St Andrews in Scotland, and their website says students should "take subjects which are relevant to the course of their choice", and should take 5 subjects in grade 12 (History, English and Geography HLs, Portuguese SL and some other random, easy course I can take just to bring my marks up), achieving an 85% average or higher. Compared to the required 36 IB points, this is very, very easy. I actually emailed the university a while ago asking why the big difference in requirements, and they said they don't know and that what matters is that the student achieves the grades asked. Besides, if I dropped I wouldn't have to finish CAS (which I'm almost done with, but still).