University math...

BenjoNi

Hello everyone :)

I'm new to this... and yeah.. from this year I've started with IB.....I'm interested in going to UK to university... but I'm on math studies not on math SL..... will that affect my choice... I mean... will universitys accept me with that math.. and I'd like to study something about electronics or economics....

First of all, good luck with the IB! It is a hard but rewarding program :)

Well, math studies is generally not really appreciated by universities (of course it really depends on which universities we are actually talking about). When it comes to Economics, I can tell you with certainty that most of them ask for mathematics higher level (usually a 7 or a 6). But again, I am sure you will find universities that require math SL, but I really do not know though if there are any that allow math studies. Now, when you are saying electronics, you mean something like Computer Science or Electronic and Electrical Engineering? Because both of these courses are based on Mathematics and universities will again require Mathematics at a higher level. You still have a whole year to decide though, so again, good luck! :)

• Like 1

haha, you kidding us? it's just like wanting to study Chinese Literature but you cannot speak Chinese.

Electronics (assuming it falls under Engineering) and Econs do require Maths HL so obviously if you apply with Maths Studies you'll be rejected straight away.

so what should you do?

take Maths HL?

NO, you should NOT.

if you have chosen Maths Studies first, I assume you have no confidence in Maths and will not be capable of doing HL Maths. no offence, but it's what the case usually is (well, unless it's the only Maths course your school offers so you have no choice but to take it).