I don't understand the IB marking scheme?

thebest

Ok so. Im in my first year of the IB diploma program. This grade, I am taking : Chem HL, Math SL, Eng HL, French SL, Bio SL, Philosophy/or tok im not sure which one?

In grade 11, the only IB exams that I will be taking in May is for math and french (rest in grade 12). But I don't understand the marking scheme at all....

Like, for example, in math, everyone is saying that the term work (quizes, tests) do not really affect the overall IB grade out of 7 at all???.. So basically, if you are good at math, you can fool around the whole year, and just get like a perfect on the IB exam, and the portfolios and you'll still get a 7? What my course information sheet says for math is that: 70% = exam, 20% = IAs, and 10% = term work. So how is it that the term work does not affect your final IB grade at all?

Also, since I live in Canada, Ontario, I'm wondering how IB marks are CONVERTED into Ontario/ordinary marks. Like, is it just my final IB mark converted into a percentage? Or do IB exams not count toward my Ontario grades? OR, is it that everything I do in the term + the IB grades account for my final Ontario grades?

I would also like to know how these IB grades work in other subjects as well....Because so far I've only heard about this for math, nothing else.

Ok so. Im in my first year of the IB diploma program. This grade, I am taking : Chem HL, Math SL, Eng HL, French SL, Bio SL, Philosophy/or tok im not sure which one?

In grade 11, the only IB exams that I will be taking in May is for math and french (rest in grade 12). But I don't understand the marking scheme at all....