Are my choices ok?

spereira14

I'm less than a month away from having to choose my IB subjects for next year, my family and friends are already exhausted from listening to my IB dilemmas, so I decided to see what you guys thought!

English A1 HL

Spanish A1 HL

Maths SL

Chemistry SL

Business HL

Computer Science SL

I'm also planning to take a seventh subjects which could be either french (don't wanna lose the knowledge) or theatre (general interest)

I also dont know whether to do business or computer science HL...

Aaand I'm torn between Biology (easier) or chemistry (more applyable for the future)

THANKS IN ADVANCE AND SORRY FOR ALL THE DOUBTS!

btw I'm a fairly good student, surely top ten (maybe five) out of 110 students

What do you want to study in the future? That will help you with your course selection. Biology is the easier of the two sciences you listed , but if you like chemistry it's not impossible to do well.

If you want to go into business or something like that I would swap business for economics. Although it seems obvious to take business it's not regarded very highly in IB and by universities. Economics, on the other hand, is. Is it possible to do that?

I guess your subject combination is manageable. For me, the languages were the ones which demanded less study. What you really need to know is how to develop an argument and how to critically analyze literature, that´s all about A1. You plan to take 2 languages A1 at HL so you´ll be fine.

If you want to go for management I´d suggest as well that you take economics HL as it is more well regarded than business and management. Computer science SL seems fair enough as it is somehow related to engineering as well as management.

You should take definately mathematics HL is you plan to go to engineering or management, it is a bonus point.