Studying for Bio

Bert Macklin FBI

I was thinking that since most of Bio. is terms that I would flashcards for the terms as well as the questions in the syllabus. Sorry if this sounds completely stupid but I was wondering what people did to make their flashcards standout (e.g. simple concise definitions, color, diagrams) because I'm gonna be coming back to terms that I learned now at the beginning of Bio when I'm taking the exam in 2 years. :blink:

Also, for any of you IB graduates, would you recommend forming notes from a textbook or strictly using the syllabus to make sure you know everything because the textbook we use, C.J Clegg, sees pretty comprehensive

Appreciate any help :)

I take IB Biology HL too (I'm in my second year) and although I really don't use flashcards (it's a great idea though!), one tool I use that really helps me is the IB Bio Wikibook online. It outlines each topic in the IB Bio curriculum in great detail and it's super helpful:).

Thanks for the tip. I checked the site and its great so thank you so much for that. :)

• 1 month later...

I use Quizlet.com to keep all my flashcards in order (there are premade sets you can use or you can make your own - and you can even add pics!) and then click4biology.com to do some consise-ish review.It does a pretty good job of explaining the assessment statements. I'm currently in HL Bio Yr. 2 - so I haven't taken the exams yet, but I've already started revising.

I know this sounds really long and annoying to do but I got a three prong binder, and wrote/drew out all the assessment statements. I'm one of those people who are visual-tactile learners, so I need to write things out. (That's sorta off topic, but once I finish the book, I'm scanning all the pages and uploading them here so you guys can use them!)

Guest Animistic Anaemia