how did you learn English..

URA BOAT

their are many people from other countries that speak english..but i dont understand how did they learn it...did they learn it in school or did have to get privet tutors..or dose every one know english...and is it just me that thinks that only English(British) and Americans(USA) speak english...

:blink:

I started learning English in kindergarten when I was about 5 or 6 years old. Unfortunately, after 4th grade all my English teachers were rubbish so I have my enthusiasm for books to thank regarding my vocabulary and such :) Also, TV shows and movies helped a lot!

Edited by hedwig

Well, I have never had good English classes at school till now (IB). I always had classes after school, in groups, not individual ones. You just have textbooks and learn...from basics like 'Good morning. I am...', 'orange, apple...' (Kindergarden, first year of primary school), to some more difficult things. Later on you just read some books, talk with some ppl, watch movies etc ;) You just learn it like any other foreign language :P. It's sad like some native English speakers think that it's not needed to learn a foreign language. Until the time I'll be looking for a job I hope I'm gonna speak two or three foreing languages. English is not enough imho, now everybody learns it.

There are sooo many advantages of knowing as many languages as possible. It is said that you cannot really get to know a culture and people without knowing their language.

Sometimes I wonder...it's just so peculiar that so many things depend on where you were born and that...I don't know, just this thing that we have so many things in common and still we all speak so many different languages :).

Besides that there are many places where English is the mother language, I guess it has its advantage that it's not that difficult. I mean, I guess it must be quite a challenge to learn for example Polish as a foreign language.

Edited by lilianna009