Musical Investigation Ideas?

Dimitri

So, I'm an SL Music student and I'm starting my musical investigation. I'M STUMPED!!! Anyone got any topic ideas to share? Or something to get me going? My only possible topic idea is Irish folk music, and if I needed to be more specific, I could say from the 1800's. I have NO reason for using that, it just came up one day. Help???

I really don't know about anything about music nor the musical investigation therefore I'm not sure if this post will be useful, but why don't you try like a compare and contrast of American hip hop in the '60s and nowadays or how or to what extent it represents the culture each artist comes from. Hope it helps :)

Hello,

for the MI you need to find two specific pieces that are from two very different cultures and find two big links between them but the links need to be based on the musical elements eg. structure, melody, harmony... and not on the context of the piece eg. they are used to represent feelings of love or they are both for violin.

I wonder if somebody could help me too. Then present it in some media script

So, I am planning to use Japanese koto music and Western Classical music, specifically rokudan for the japanese and the piano variations by Copland.

Are these pieces too different?

is use of a gradually increasing metre until the climax and then slowing at the end of the piece an "inherent" enough link?

my other link is that they are both variations on a theme (both continuous and consisting of 2 halves)

have other links too such as both not diatonic and monophonic-ish?

Hey,

I just finished the November 2011 exams and got my results and all, and I did HL Music.