4 or 3 HLs?

tiffany_wu888

Hi guys,

I'm currently a sophomore (year 11) and am going to be starting the IB program next year. We have to do our course choices now so this is what I'm planning to do:

English A: Literature SL

Chinese A: Literature SL

Spanish Ab Initio SL

Math HL

Chem HL

Econ HL

My question is..is it worth it to switch English to HL and have 4 HLs instead of 3???

A lot of upperclassmen at my school have told me not to do it, but at the same time they've also said that english hl and sl is almost the same..there are only a couple more works studied so I am really conflicted :/

I'd switch Chinese to HL, but I'm taking it a year early (anticipated student) so I can't...

What do you guys think??

Thanks!!

I don't see any point in taking language A HL unless you need it for uni. just because it's your native language it doesn't mean you'll be able to ace it... many are native speakers here but we even struggle at SL. literature is NOT a piece of cake. it might be a whole new world to somebody especially because the level of analysis required here is quite advanced.

I say it's not worth it to take it at HL... you'll have to study a few more books, and a few books is A LOT to read and comprehend.

just do 3.

whya re u doing two group 1 languages

The new syllabus allows two Group 1s.. in case you were confused...

I feel like such a stalker answering this on TSR and now going on here to reply and realizing you're probably the same person from TSR...

HAHAHAHAHAHA

I AM, ACTUALLY!

It's all good..XD

I vote 3HLs, IB is hard, don't underestimate it. Taking four HLs is like take a dump at the IB HQ XD They will make you suffer.