Help with deciding between English lit or lang and lit

I'm a sophomore, in the midst of IB course selections. One of my current problems i'm struggling over is as to whether I should take English Lit or Lang and Lit (both SL).

Here's a bit about my current situation:

I'm in an advanced English course, and earning fairly good results. My teacher says that I have a natural talent for English, and she's pushing me to take Lit.

However, here's the catch: English, specifically literary analyzation, is not one of my interests. In addition, the current course i'm taking is VERY analysis based, and analyzes A LOT of literature (poems, prose, the whole lot). IB alumni from my school have said that the class i'm in right now is very similar to the old English A1 class, which as I understand, is practically the same as the new Lit class. I'm not sure I want to keep going down this path, and Lang and Lit is starting to seem very promising as a way to escape from such heavy analysis.

Does anybody have any advice for my current situation?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

To be honest I agree with citizenoftheuniverse :) If you find it tedious to do that class, then you shouldn't do it. Do what you have an interest in or a passion for! One thing you can consider is, what is the class, do you think, you will succeed in the most? In my opinion, classes that I do not really like are the classes I excel less in.

But I also say, think about what your current goals. What courses are you aiming for in university (if you have an idea)? Think about the best possible way to improve your chances of getting into that program.

Hopefully these questions will help you in your choice! :)

Good luck!

• Like 1