IB online courses

Selin Es

Hey there :)

I will start IB this september and I'm thinking about taking a course online. My school don't offers Economics, but I'd really love to take it as SL. I wasn't sure, whether I can do it just self-studied, so I surfed a bit and found the online courses of Panjoma Education, which also is mentioned at the IBO's website. It seems like a good option for me :)

Anyone has experience with online courses? Maybe Economics too? Or even with Panjoma Education?

Thank you for your answers!

It's a similar situation at our school. Economics is offered at SL and HL in French, but at present students who want to study it in English have to take the Pamoja option, and our coordinator says it is going well with the May 2012 cohort. This means additional expense, of course.

There is also one student piloting Spanish A1 by an option called "School Supported Self Taught", which he reports is also going well.

Edited by HiggsHunter

Woah! Wish I'd researched about this. Wanted to take psychology but my school didn't offer it... My coordinator didn't even tell me I could do it self study. Even though I have no knowledge regarding how this works, I'd say do it. You just have to be sure to work hard.

Woah! Wish I'd researched about this. Wanted to take psychology but my school didn't offer it... My coordinator didn't even tell me I could do it self study. Even though I have no knowledge regarding how this works, I'd say do it. You just have to be sure to work hard.

There is a short two-part video that gives an idea of how Pamoja works here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BMWzfgNH5Y&feature=relmfu

Also see:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sNO__IjR7fE

To support online students, a site-based coordinator has to be designated at the participating IB school, and there is a fee for his training.