7 IB courses?

betaJay

Hi,

I'm currently a sophomore (Grade 10 or Year 11), about to head into the IB next year. I'm currently in the midst of selecting my IB courses for next year. Here's my situation: I want to take 7 IB classes. This is not normally allowed at my school, and the only way to do such a course load is to do 7 certificates (you are not allowed to take a 7th class as an elective in addition to the full diploma). 4 HLs is not allowed for full diploma candidates either.

The classes are as follows:

SLs:

A English Lang and Lit SL

A Chinese Lang and Lit SL

Information Technology in a Global Society SL (online)

HLs:

Chemistry HL

Physics HL

Economics HL

Math HL

Should I go with such a load, I would not do the Extended Essay or TOK, but I would sign up for CAS, which is apparently allowed starting this year.

My teachers all say I shouldn't have a problem with juggling the workload, but many of them have strongly advised that I consider maintaining a balance between school and outside life.

I have a strong interest in technology (Computer Science is not on offer), and I feel that it is in this field I would most likely seek a career in. However, I have harbored a childhood interest in science, and I would also like to keep such a route open. As for Economics, my teacher has strongly recommended the class to me, saying that the class is a perfect match for my myriad of interests. The class content, based on what I have heard and read, is interesting as well. The languages seem as more of a necessary evil - I don't really enjoy them (I don't exactly hate them), but I have to take them.

I've heard a lot of "go with your interests" advice, but that doesn't seem to be helping - I just seem to have too many interests. I would like to avoid having to take 7 IB classes, partly because I want to do the full core (which I could do with 6 classes) and partly because I don't want to overload myself with work.

A few questions: