Is it absolutely necessary that my ToK presentation is formal?

fatima.1207

Hi guys!

I'm in my first year of IB and I'm currently working on a mock ToK presentation. My title is 'can we derive knowledge from music?'. When I ran this past my ToK teacher, he thought it was good idea. However, he did point out to the whole class that we should try and make our presentations a little bit creative and not just 'stand at the front of room and read off a script'. I wanted to dress up and act as Johhny Rotten from the Sex Pistols and tell a story about how I (meaning Johnny Rotten) ended in a pub brawl with a univeristy student whilst arguing about whether knowledge can be derived from music. It sounds ridiculous, but I had worked out a way to explain both sides of the argument and use the appropriate ToK language when necessary without making the presentation seem unrealistic. However at the same time, I still need to include informal language in order to be a convincing Johhny Rotten. My teacher, on the other hand says informal language will 'detract from what is required.'I have a structured argument, but no interesting delivery style and I really feel this roleplay will give me an edge.

Help!!!!!! Does it really need to be formal? And if it does, is there anyway I can still include this roleplay?

My teach strongly recomends something unusual, and he mentioned (several times) that we can do a roleplay, or anything we like. Anything that will improve the way we present an idea, or so.

PS. I really really really LOVE your idea to dress up as Johnny Rotten :)! And I think it could end up beeing amazing! Good luck ;)

Edited by Summer Glau
please don't use text speak
  • Like 1

No problem. Just saying what my teach told me :). It won't hurt anybody if you do it ;), good luck, as I said!