anyone taking further mathematics? Or just a myth

pennywise256

Is there any of you actually taking further mathematics? In my country, no school offers this subject, so it's pretty much a rare one. I don't know of anyone taking it, it sounds like a class for very gifted genii guys, even the name can put off any curious. If you are taking it, please tell us the ordinary Ibs what it is like, else, I would start seriously thinking it's only a myth.

I am doing Further Maths. Self-taught though since my school doesn't offer it. By the way I'm moving this topic to the General IB Discussion thread. No need to be in Mathematics since it's a discussion.

How exactly does self-teaching work? I think I'd have been interested in doing that if my school would have allowed it.

I am doing Further Maths. Self-taught though since my school doesn't offer it. By the way I'm moving this topic to the General IB Discussion thread. No need to be in Mathematics since it's a discussion.

How exactly does self-teaching work? I think I'd have been interested in doing that if my school would have allowed it.

Umm You buy a book and you study by yourself. I don't understand what your school doesn't allow. You only need them to register you for the exam. :S

There's someone at my school taking Further Mathemtics, first person to do so. I imagine it must be insanely hard, as it doesn't get much harder than Maths HL...

Well Further Maths is kind of like Maths HL in the sense that it includes all five options of the higher level course plus geometry. The difference is that the questions are usually even harder to figure out compared to the P3 for Maths HL.

Umm You buy a book and you study by yourself. I don't understand what your school doesn't allow. You only need them to register you for the exam. :S

My school's curriculum is rather limited and they're very against having people deviate from it. Similar thing happened when I asked if I could do computer science for my EE.