Hello, I'm Mexican, and currently about to finish IB1. I'm exactly one year away from my examinations. However, I'm going to continue my studies in Finland, starting next July. I'm taking the odd subject "Social and cultural anthropology" as part of my curriculum, but I really can't make my mind up of what the whole thing is about. My memory is bad for that kind of issues, and mostly, and even though my teacher is really good and is always looking for the best way to convey his ideas, we always come down to the point where it become tremendously boooooooring.

Furthermore, there's no IB school in Finland offering the subject, so I would need to be a "self-taught", that's one more reason to add to the feeling that I'm not making it because of Anthro :( But, since I'm going to live in Finland, and obviously learning the language naturally, I guess I just could kind of switch places, and even do it in HL!

People have said it's one of the most difficult languages to learn there are, but I learnt English in just one year, and without even travelling to an English-speaking country, so I really believe I can make it. Is this even possible? If you are in Finland, could you give me an advice on whether this is a smart decision? Is Finnish language really that hard? Thanks :D

I'm a student studying Finnish B SL here in Finland and as a native speaker of the language, it comes easy for me.

On the other hand, we have some students who went into the language ab initio, despite it being a B language and some prior knowledge should be known. The reason for this is that our school does not provide Ab Initio languages for some strange bizarre reason. The students do struggle with Finnish and I must say it is a very difficult language to learn. Self-teaching Finnish is even more difficult, so I would definitely not recommend that.