Is IB the right way to go?

DavidNZ

Hi,

I am a 15 year old student currently in Auckland, NZ. My school is offering IB for the first time next year (ie. I will be the first year). It will be the first non private school in New Zealand to be offering IB so they are very keen to get it off the ground. In NZ we have a national qualification (called NCEA), however, while this is fine for NZ Universities, because we are a small country and the system is reasonably new, NCEA provides little context for overseas Uni applications. This is one of a couple reasons I am interested in doing IB. Also, because NCEA is a national qualification, it is pitched at the middle, and at times leaves me bored. The main thing holding me back is that very few people I know are doing it (they see no reason to do it over NCEA) and I am worried by the workload and if I'll get good enough grades to make it worthwhile. Also a two year course seems slightly daunting. However because few people are doing it it means class sizes will be small so it will be close to private tutoring.

My basic question is what did you like and dislike about IB. Did not having friends in your classes matter? Was the workload overwhelming (Is there still enough time to play sports etc)? Did it actually provide you with an advantage in the end? Just what can I expect?

It's a big choice for me so I'm after honest answers and real issues (all the stuff on the internet is either very negative or overly positive testimonials)

Thank you

Edited by DavidNZ