Help in English compare and contrast essay?

Guest HairtUB

Guest HairtUB

Hey guys, I'm desperate :(

I have an English exam tomorrow where I have to compare and contrast two texts and I'm not really good at it. Do you guys have some helpful tips? Maybe regarding the structure of the essay? I don't really care about using sophisticated words and fancy phrases, I just want a simple structured, not confusing essay. That's good enough for me. So, just any tips you can think of? Thank you.

Hey!

Well uhm, you could search for similar themes and maybe similar tones. what both writers are trying to convey to the readers. The effect. Then you can look at how both the extracts are dissimilar. Like you could say 'although the themes in both books are very much the same, the authors in both texts portray them differently.' Or something like that. You could also mention tone and mood.

I'm sorry if it sounds so obvious lol. I hope i helped! :D good luck with it tomorrow!

• 2 weeks later...

My best advice for Paper 1 is to focus on the text type, audience and purpose. Constantly refer to these 3 elements, as these are supposed to be the core of your essay. (I think the mark scheme explicitly states this, but I'm not too sure.) And purpose is the core of the core - always, always refer to purpose to keep your essay relevant.

Also, write about the features of the piece(s) (depending if you're HL or SL): what is the graphology like? what is the language like? when were the pieces written, and what are the contexts of those eras? A key but obvious point is whether the piece is non-fiction and fiction; I think the IB tends to give out that combination more than a non-fiction/non-fiction paper.

BUT do not mention features about the texts if they are not a) relevant to text type, audience and purpose, or b) you do not have anything else to say other than stating that point.