Dropping Out?

kailachristine

Ive completed two years of Pre-IB and im in my first year of the Actual IB program. Im contemplating dropping out cause i dont think i will be receiving the amount of benefits i should based on all the work and the difficulty level. is this program really worth it? i dont know what the best decision is so someone please help me.

• Like 1

I personally think it depends on what you want to do Uni-wise. Also think why are you dropping out? Do I need the IB? Don't think dropping out and doing another IB equivalent program, like A levels for example, will instantly lead to an easier life. Because, generally,higher education programs are designed to be more advanced.In the end do what's best for you.

If it's solely about the difficulty of the program, there is a lot of resources and help available. If you do any of the subjects I do ( they're in my signature), you could PM me for help. I'd be happy to help any way I can and share some resources.

In America, Universities seem to appreciate the difficulty of the program (well compared to the UK) so this could be a good thing. MIT for example say they like to see a rigorous course load, which is the definition of IB.

What do you want to do after IB?

Edited by ChocolateDrop
  • Like 1

At the end of the day it's up to what you actually need, what the other available high school programs are, etcetera. If you think the workload is a bit high, you can always drop to IB Certificate. Basically you drop one subject of your choice as well as ToK/EE and you no longer have to do CAS.

• Like 1

I personally think it depends on what you want to do Uni-wise. Also think why are you dropping out? Do I need the IB? Don't think dropping out and doing another IB equivalent program, like A levels for example, will instantly lead to an easier life. Because, generally,higher education programs are designed to be more advanced.In the end do what's best for you.