Further Math as Self Taught Subject

Archer

My school offers Further Mathematics as a Self-Taught subject. I intend to pursue a Math degree in college, for which I need both Math HL and Further Math HL. I''m already taking Math HL. It's hard, but manageable. Do you recommend that I take Further Math as Self-Taught too. Is it at all possible, especially with the work-load the IB already sets?

Maths HL is plenty hard, but obviously manageable I think. I don't know of any university which requires Further Maths, as I don't think that many schools offer it - I think there are quite a few which recommend/highly recommend it, but I think they would understand that most applicants wouldn't have access to that class easily. I guess if you want a head-start on your dream career as a mathematician, it wouldn't hurt to try it. However, make sure you have good support and a teacher handy, preferably.

Would you be taking it as a 6th, or 7th subject? Even if it is only 6 subjects including Further Maths, it is a HL course and thus lots of time - a lot of effort. I certainly don't have exactly the same kind of experience, but if you do take Further it will be a challenge - but if you enjoy it, maybe not so much. I commend you on your courage, as I don't think most IB students are brave enough to even think of anything beyond Maths HL :)

I highly doubt pursuing Further Maths will do you any good.

In my experience, Maths is something that needs to be taught in order to fully understand the concepts, self studying it is more or less setting yourself up for disaster.

Maths HL is perfect by itself if you're thinking of doing Maths at university level.

Just work hard and get a high grade.

EDIT: If you're still skeptical. Look up Universities you may wish to go to and see their entry requirements. If majority of them state they want Further Math? Go for it (though I hardly doubt it)

Its not worth putting yourself under pressure for no reason.

Good Luck with your decision!