BJD

I just completed my first all nighter with school in an hour. I had to crack down two biology lab reports and a Works in Translation essay. I used a can of red bull and had a bottle of Evian to sort of "balance it out" in a psychosomatic view. I just want to know what are your experiences with all nighters, have you done many? Were they productive? Is a frequent occurrence? Do you benefit from it?

I'm apprehensive to find out how the whole day will pan out. Will be interesting!

This is my first year in IB, and so far I'm surviving it. It's been three and a half months and I haven't pulled all nighter yet. Personally I don't think it's a good idea. It's neither beneficial for one's health nor is it productive. As long as you don't procrastinate, you should be able to get about at least six and a half hours of sleep every day (that's what I get). The latest that I've stayed up was back in Grade 10, during one of my sessions at Model UN. I stayed up until 2:30 am to write a draft resolution, and woke up at 6:30 to get back to it. It turned out to be...well, not one of the best decisions I've ever made, I had to have four cups of coffee just to keep my eyes open. I felt dizzy and I had a headache for the entire day.

So far in IB, my latest record is 1:30 am, when I was preparing for a history debate. And it took me two days to get back from that sleep-deprived state.

Anyways, I remember when I first started, the Year 2's told us : In IB, there's school, sleep, and social; you can only choose two out of the three. You're a Year 2, I thought you guys already know that. But if you don't, I hope this advice would somehow be helpful to you.

Good luck! And you REALLY do need to sleep more. :)