Math HL or SL?

Rahul

Hey everyone,

I've got a pretty big decision to make within the next few weeks regarding which level of IB Mathematics to take. I only have the options of SL or HL - no further maths or studies is offered at my school - and the decision I make is final; If I go into HL and find it too difficult or take SL and find it too easy I cannot switch to the other. If I were to take SL, I would have 3 more semesters of math in high school and end math at the end of 11th grade; taking HL, I would have 4 more semesters and end at November 2012. Grades aren't that major of a concern for me - on our transcripts for universities, our marks are standardized (for HL , they are routinely standardized about 35%), and as I am a certificate student, I'm not concerned about diploma points whatsoever.

A couple other things that might affect my descision are both that I'd consider myself to be a talented math student - I learn rather quickly and am able to work intuitively (I found I was able to complete the majority of the Shadow Functions IA with but a basic knowledge of cubics and no knowledge of how to solve them in under an hour; of course, this is excluding the writing up of the report, which makes up the majority of the time investment into the IA afaik), and that the HL mathematics teacher at our school is by far the best teacher in the school, whereas it would be a crapshoot as to which SL math teacher I would get. However, HL exam questions I find rather intimidating, and I fear that I would not be able to perform up to my standards in tests for the subject.

Thanks a lot for any help,

Rahul

Edited by RahulArora