ACT or SAT?

lvch95

Hello everyone,

I'm in IB1 year and I want to start taking SAT or ACT as well, but I'm not sure which one to take. Since I'm an international student ACT seems easier in terms of vocab but we have a score choice in SAT and that's what confuses me. Any ideas? Or does it make a difference for universities?

• Like 2

• 2 weeks later...

I recommend taking the ACT, people I know who have taken both always score higher on the ACT. Also it eliminates the need to take SAT Subjects which are a pain, especially if you're interested in social sciences because as far as I can remember they only offer history.

• Like 1

• 4 weeks later...

Take both and determine which you are better at. Colleges look at both scores the same. I was told by a college admissions counselor that girls who like subjects such as math and science do better on the ACT. However, don't just take them one time. The first time will not be the score you want. Take it as many times as possible and your highest score counts.

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

I took the SAT and scored around 1900 at the most; I didn't like the format and the constant subject changes (reading section, then math, then reading, then writing...or whatever order it was)

I plan on taking the ACT soon, and the SAT again. But I took practice ACT's and they were generally better than my SAT score; it all depends.

SAT is an aptitude test, ACT is an achievement test, basically everything you have learned in school.

It's up to the person; if you can do problem solving and don't fall for tricks, SAT.

If you like direct questions, ACT.

My english teacher told us to look at it like a metaphor; SAT is more "IB" and ACT is more "AP"

It kind of makes sense, but not really XD

• 2 weeks later...