English HL A2

r.h.a

Hello :)

So I think I need major advice and help, and I'd greatly appreciate it <3 !!

Ok, so the situation is the following:

I am doing the full IB Diploma, however a Non-regular diploma. I am doing English A2, Biology, and Chemistry as HL and Math, Physics and Arabic A2 as SL. I am not a native English speaker, but I have been studying English for 10 years so I consider it as a first language as well. My mother-tongue language is Arabic. Although I love my language, I am doing English as HL instead because I am planning to study abroad (hopefully) and I think it will help me greatly and improve my English. The problem is that my teacher is very bad. She does nothing with us in terms of work. We are currently doing 1984 by George Orwell. She explains the book well, but she goes off topic so much and she does not work with us. We haven't done any essays or questions or anything at all. She didn't even discuss the layout of the IB examinations or the criterion with us, and I think I am failing. I cannot change the level now for two reasons. First, I cannot change any of the sciences or math, because the school does not offer math or physics at HL level. So, this leaves me with the choice of switching it with Arabic. Since we are already half way through the year, if I switch I would have to catch up with so much work in addition to the usual work we get. This means I would end up dying of sleep deprivation and utter exhaustion! So shall I switch levels or?