Chemistry SL or HL? NEED HELP FAST!

danny1996

Im a student in IB1. In our school we have to choose whether we want SL or HL in our subjects at the end of our first year of IB. I want to study medicine. The subjects I've signed up for next year are:

ITGS SL

Math Studies SL

Bio HL

English A1 HL

Arabic B HL

I also take chemistry but im having trouble figuring out whether SL or HL is the right choice for me. Can someone please help me? My current grade in chemistry SL is 72%. That's a 6 out of 7. I want to take chemistry HL but I'm afraid because it might be too hard. PLEASE HELP! Thanks in advance :)

• Like 1

I talked to the IB coordinator in our school. She said Math Studies wasn't accepted before for medicine. But now it's accepted in most places. She also said many students also manage through with Chemistry SL. My main concern is my final grade. I am aiming to get 6's in all of my HL subjects. I'm not very confident that I can do that very easily since my grade in chemistry SL is now a 6 at the moment. Is there a drastic difference in difficulty in the two courses? If I do choose to take Chemistry HL, keep in mind that I'll also have to work with 4 HLs instead of 3.. HELP >.< dilemmmaaaa

In a nutshell: HL
Short version: Take Chemistry HL
Long version: If you want to study medicine, you need Chemistry HL. Most of the unis require Bio and Chem at HL and all my medicine-related classmates take Bio and Chem HL, If you have 72% from Chemistry currently, you shouldn't worry too much, you'll probably do well. If you really don't want to take Chemistry at HL, you should change your university plans :D

As I said before, my first priority is to end up with good grades :( especially with my HL subjects.

Well, the problem is, if you don't have the subjects unis list as entry requirements, they won't care how good your grades are, they will simply reject you.

• Like 3