Ideal number of pages?

jon123jon

Im doing my paper 2 and 3 next week and im wondering whats the ideal number of pages i should write for each essay. Im left handed and i dont write really fast, also i write at least 10 words per line excluding crossouts. Ive never gotten really high marks in history, mainly around level 4s and 5s. Im concerned that its because im not writing enough or something, since some of my friends wrote like 6 pages for each essay and got a high 6. I know content is more important and ive already tried my best to cover all the events n stuff already, but i still keep getting mid 5s, which leads me to wonder if the amount you write is really that important.

Anyone here getting 7s by writing a few pages only for each essay?

Quality > Quantity, so the ideal number of sides is the number of sides that concisely and accurately discusses the answer to the question by examining the factors! :)

I am a fast writer and usually write about 10 words per line like you, and I usually write about 3-4 sides for my essays.

It really is down to content, not how much you write - though I understand your concern that it may be the secret. You need to blend detailed historical knowledge with critical commentary. You could be able to list every event of every month in the time period you're examining and not score highly if it's just a narrative and not an analytical answer to a question.

Thus, what the IB takes into account is a focused and structured approach - resist the urge to shove in all of the impressive content you know, because lack of focus and tangents turns the examiners off :P - alongside critical analysis and evaluation: is the factor important?? Don't just say what happened, you're trying to prove whether that factor is or isn't important!