I need some help coming up with an EE question.

Abby Appel

Okay, I have an idea that I want to work with The Great Gatsby, and I want to look at the differences between West Egg, and East Egg. Look at the differences between the two. Almost like looking at how the hollowness of the upper class, like Tom and Gatsby and all, compares to the lower class, with Myrtle, and George. I also wanted to focus on the literary aspects of how he describes the two.

I just need help putting this all into a research question. Could anyone please help me?

I'm no expert on English, let alone Gatsby, and I certainly don't know if there is enough content that you can analyse with the following suggestions.. but hopefully something sparks an idea! I'm not sure whether these suggestions are even good… just tried to phrase questions according to the information you had above.

• In what ways are West Egg and East Egg in The Great Gatsby different/similar?
  • How does Fitzgerald describe and compare West Egg and East Egg in The Great Gatsby?
  • To what extent is West/East Egg more *insert descriptive word here* than East/West Egg in The Great Gatsby? This would allow you to compare a specific thing, but you could also compare other sub-things under that. If that even makes sense...

The best thing is actually for you to try and come up with an EE question - even if it's phrased badly. You probably have the best idea of the arguments you want to write about, so just try and write a question. You could even ask your EE supervisor to give you some ideas and feedback on any research questions you're thinking about.

If you're still stuck, read the EE syllabus, and check out some past english IAs - it might prompt you into figuring out how to phrase your question.

Just remember.. the research question should be specific and sharply focused.

hope this helps! :)

• Like 1