Failing spanish ab initio

Help! I'm in first year IB, I'm failing spanish ab initio. I'm getting level 1s and 2s, and the other person in my class is doing a lot better than me. What do you suggest I do? If I work really hard from now till the exams, is it possible to get my grade up to a 5 or a 6? Is it possible with ab initio? I feel like I know no spanish at all.

Thanks.

I really don't understand how you can be getting a 1 or a 2. Anyway, the best thing you could do is go to Spain for a few weeks in an intensive course. Practice your grammar and buy a vocab book such as Palabra por Palabra and learn vocab from there as it comes from authentic Spanish sources. Learn your verbs and irregulars and learn a more impressive grammar point than is required, such as the subjunctive. But only do so when you have your basic grammar nailed.

• Like 1

I really don't understand how you can be getting a 1 or a 2. Anyway, the best thing you could do is go to Spain for a few weeks in an intensive course. Practice your grammar and buy a vocab book such as Palabra por Palabra and learn vocab from there as it comes from authentic Spanish sources. Learn your verbs and irregulars and learn a more impressive grammar point than is required, such as the subjunctive. But only do so when you have your basic grammar nailed.

Yeah I'm incredibly bad it seems :/ I'll look into that book, but a trip to Spain is out of the question :P

Hey there!