Universities giving big scholarships (considering my grades)?

b1995

Hey

I got a total of 39 and I’m considering taking a gap year. I really want to study in an English-spoken country, but since I’m neither a citizen nor a resident of any of those countries, I’ve to pay high tuition fees, which my family cannot afford at all. Therefore, I’m looking for a place (university) where you can get big scholarships that cover most of tuition fees.

Do you have any suggestions?

More details:

I would like to study in the field of computer science and/or IT (Information Technology). My final grades are as follows:

Self-taught A SL: 7

Danish B SL: 6

English B HL: 6

Economics SL: 6

Physics HL: 7

Math HL: 6

Bonus points: 1 (EE in physics: B, Tok: C)

In total: 39

Edited by b1995
  • Like 1

Look into studying in Scotland, as EU students get free tuition and Scotland have some of the Top Universities in the world. (St. Andrews, Edinburgh and Glasgow and the University of Strathclyde is good at computer science too)

• Like 3

I assume you live in an EU country though, probably Denmark? It might not matter because you're a resident there, so would be classed as EU.

Some UK unis do give scholarships but your best bet is to look into Canada as I believe they give lucrative scholarships for IB students.

Also, how did you take 4 SLs? Surely one must have been at HL or you wouldn't have been awarded a diploma.

• Like 1

Well my residence permit here is temporary. I once filled in the fee assessment of the U of Glasgow, and the answer was that I would be categorized as an "overseas" student.

Do you know any Canadian unis in particular? I applied to some scholarships in UBC and U of Alberta - got nothing from UBC and a very low amount from Alberta.

PS: Oh wait that's a mistake :D My English B was HL. Corrected it (sorry).

Edited by b1995

Ok sure.

Do you know any specific university, or a place (like a searching website) where I can start?