French level selection advice.

Hello, I'll be starting with my diploma course next week, and I'm changing board from CBSE. I've been studying french for the past 5 years, but what I've realised is that it is not up to the mark. We never focussed on the pronunciation and writing skills. And my vocabulary is also not very good.

My school offers French B only at SL. Is it advisable for me to take up French B as I've studied the language before, or should I start all over again with French ab initio?

please help! Thanks..

Take up ab initio...I did french for 7 years and I still find it tough. Don't ruin your life. Period.

I don't know what part of India you're from, but because I'm Punjabi I find that I just can't freaking pronounce some words properly, maybe my tongue moves different...so don't worry! It's not just you...Even I feel the pain with this language...ok I'll stop ranting now ;)

But, if you want to be one of those types of people that 'enjoys challenging themselves' do SL...tbh after a while you get the hang of things like speaking and writing.

Anyway do what you think suits you!

Cheers,

Simran

Edited by cricketcrazynerd

Hi! Well, if you didn't focus on the vocabulary, neither on pronounciation or writing skills whatsoever, I wonder what you actually focused on lol
You probably know much more than you realise. I have only studied French for three years, and when I started high school I stopped studying, so it's been three years since I last studied it.. Still I am taking French B HL for the IB diploma! Don't undervalue the fact that you've studied it for five years, after all it's not something everyone has done.

Instead of taking AB, go for French B SL! French is not that hard... There's plenty of more difficult - objectively speaking - languages out there.

So, if I were you, I'd definitely go for French B! Only choose French AB if you believe that French B could weigh down your study curriculum, and you don't want to take any risks.