What should I take for a computer science major?

Vop

First time posting :D

Hi, I'm entering the fifth year of my MYP program and aiming for a computer science major at an American college.

Recently I've heard that chances of acceptance are improved if people take HL math and physics for any engineerin courses. However, I'm not really all that good at math and haven't tried a hand at physics yet, but I've managed to create three java games in the short time I started learning programming and I'm enjoying the area so far. :D

...Which brings me to my question(s). Are the chances of college entry still acceptable even if I take SL math and/or physics? (btw, right now there isn't a computer science class available at my school) Also, do most colleges require at least some experience in physics if you want to be admitted into a computer science course? I've scoured the internet but couldn't find much help

Thanks for the help :D

Hey I'm majoring in CS too! :) Generally American Unis do accept both HL or SL maths course...taking HL courses would enable you to get credits for the beginning maths classes at uni if you get the required grade. But SL maths works just fine. And yes, you do need to take physics. Some of the unis such as CalTech require atleast 1 (or 2) years of physics. Again, it can be SL physics. But for CS a strong maths background is always helpful.

good luck :)

From what I've read, physics is a preferred subject but not compulsory for computer science. Maths is basically essential SL or preferably HL. American Universities seem to not specify which subjects one should take at IB level. The requirements, if there are any, are usually general such as 1 or 2 years of Physics as mentioned above.

http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/wiki/Computer_Science_Degree