Mathematics EE Topic Advice (Combinatorics/Analysis)

Watermelon876

In short, I am an IB student working on a mathematics EE looking for a bit of advice. Importantly, though I make note of technical details in case any reader is familiar with them and would be able to provide more specialized feedback, I require only advice of a more general nature.

The following two paragraphs are a bit of (fairly technical) background on my EE and progress so far. They can be skipped if the reader is lost.

The question I had chosen (last year) was the following: "What mathematical properties of generating functions make them useful in combinatorial fields?" Quickly, generating functions, if the reader of this post is not familiar with their use, are effectively power series around 0 with a sequence of coefficients in the power series that have certain combinatorial meaning. For example, the power series corresponding to the function x/(1-x-x^2) in the open disk of radius (sqrt(5)-1)/2 is the generating function for the number of ordered partitions of an integer into 1s and 2s. (The fibonacci series shifted right by 1) Effectively, generating functions provide a way to leverage powerful analytic tools to solve combinatorial questions, specifically complex analytic.