French B HL with 3 yrs of prior learning?

vals

Hi everyone!

As I'm starting my IB program in, like, two weeks, I'd like to know more about the French B HL course from those of you who are currently attending it, or who've already graduated.

I've been studying French for three years, have been to Paris multiple times and if I wanted, I could easily involve myself a little more in french culture, as I have various relatives who live in France and are fluent french speakers.
During the past three years, however, I have not studied french at all (in fact, I have started studying french about six years ago, studied it for three years and then stopped for three years when I got into what in Italy is called "Liceo").

Do you think my background is too weak to study French at HL?
Oh, and I am also an Italian native speaker, so at first I assumed it wouldn't be too hard for me to learn another Romance language, but now I'm not so sure... Italian is very similar to french imo.

What is your opinion?

In my opinion, French B HL is a bit of a stretch. Any subject at a higher level (even if it's a second language) indicates a need for proficiency. I have no doubt that your French is good. However I feel as if taking French B higher will test you quite a bit. Especially because you have learned it consistently. Am guessing it depends on how much time your willing to put into it.

You work hard enough you will get grade you want. But remember there are 5 other subjects (with CAS and TOK and EE) I assume so you also want to great at. So is it really smart to challenge yourself with this?

It all comes down to this ---- How important is French to you? Is a must for you to do it (think about your career)?

• Like 1