Are the subjects you choose really vital?

Franz Liszt

Hi all, i'm a prospective student currently eyeing on the Uni of Melbourne. I'm interested in their geology course but their requirements simply state that all we need (aside from a certain score) is one subject in math (sl/hl), english and a natural science. My natural science at the moment is biology, and while I have checked and confirmed that it is accepted, doesn't geology focus much more on the chemistry and physics of the planet than biology? Won't this pose some sort of problem for me if I were to be accepted?

• Like 1

Er, no. If that this what they say are their minimum requirements, and you meet them, then you should be able to apply and succeed in their course, should you be accepted.

The university would know what kind of subjects prepare you for any particular course that they're offering, much more than you would know in any case.

Don't question it. Be happy you fulfil the criteria and go for it! :)