English Lit&Lang Written Task Rationale help please

Hi guys, writing my first written assignment soon,

However, first, I have to write a rationale.

As this is my first time, I'm freaking out. The topics that are available for me are "What I am" by Eminem, "Ice Ice baby" by Vanilla ice, the telephone conversation by Wole Soyinka, River of blood speech by Enoch Powell.

I am leaning towards Eminem's "What I am" but I don't know what I should write about. Having seen examples from the forum, many people have opted to write diaries based on poems or works of literature. However, I don't see an applicable written task that I can write based on this.

Please give in any suggestions or comments or just help me to the extent of your abilities. Thanks alot!!

Ok jolthan, let's see what we can do to help you on your way.

If you mean WA (literature)...

You should have had three stages to prepare you for the actual writing. 1. Interactive oral 2. Reflective statement 3. Supervised writing. All in class. Did this not take place?

Your teacher would have given you prompts for writing.

The fourth stage, the actual writing of the final essay, is the last. If you are at this stage, without any of the previous, the. Something is wrong.

If, as I think, you mean the WT (task) for the Language and Literature course ( Am I correct?) then ...

Rationale

In your rationale you must explain:

how the content of the task is linked to a particular part of the course

how the task is intended to explore particular aspects of the course

the nature of the task chosen

information about audience, purpose and the social, cultural or historical context in which the task is set.

The rationale should not only include knowledge about the text or topic studied, but also about the formal conventions of the text type produced and how they relate to the aims of the task.