IB Bio, Chem or Psych?

Rachel L

What are the differences between Bio, Chem and Psychology?

I was asked to choose 2 of them as soon as possible for the IB next year.

1) Will Psychology be enjoyable? It's something I have never done before and sounds quite interesting. I'm aiming for good universities though. Do universities see it as a weak subject? Or am I better off taking Bio with Chem to open up more doors for e.g. a Bachelor of Arts and Science?

2) What are the two easiest subjects out of the three? I'm more of a social science student, and I have to study quite hard in order to get excellent grades for the sciences. My current subject selections are:

Maths SL
Bio / Psych?
Chem / Psych?
Spanish ab initio SL
Eng HL
Econs HL
Thanks in advance for your help! :)

All three subjects are demanding. However, at the end of the day it comes down to what you want to study in the future and what university you want to go to. Biology is all knowledge based. You will need to have a great memory to take bio but I can't say the same for chemistry or psych. Take a look at a couple of universities and find some courses you wouldn't mind studying. Psychology is really interesting and everyone that takes it at my school, loves it. Take into consideration what you have done well at the previous years. Also look at the syllabi to find out what exactly the courses consist of, if that interests you, go for it.

Good luck!

How are you at understanding concepts? Chem. is concept based as well as a little bit of knowledge memorization (not much). I have friends who take Bio. and while they say that it is easier as compared to the Chem. kids, they have to memorize a lot. My school doesn't offer Psychology, but from what I have heard from the AP kids and lower diplomas, it is a fun class, and it seems interesting.