Physics Internal Assessment

Hello everyone,

In the Physics class today, we just got the news that we had to do an experiment to find out the relation between the length of a pendulum and the time period for the oscillation. And the big bomb was that it would go to IB for grading.

It was an Internal Assessment.

We just got this question and an equation. Now we have to make a DCP CE experiment...what the hell is that?!

I am being honest, I don't know much about practicals.

In my entire life, I have never done a practical before coming to IB. Now suddenly I am being bombarded with these DCP CE and IA stuff which I have never even heard about!
But I did do the experiment and I have a bunch of readings.

But what do I do now?

I have two weeks to submit this experiment and I have no idea how do I write it?

So could you please tell me how does one write a DCP CE experiment and what the hell does it stand for?

And what are the uncertainties or errors of the stop watch, the pendulum, the ruler (scale) and my own brain?

'Cause as it turns out, we have to write all that too.

And I have three summatives and three formatives this week!

DCP stands for Data Collection and Processing. It's where you show all the data you've collected and present it in tables and graphs.

CE stands for Conclusion and Evaluation. It's where you draw a conclusion about your results (ie what do they show), discuss your results including any outliers or anomalies on your graph, and finally you evaluate your method and how you would improve it.

Here's what you need to include in short.

DCP

Raw data tables

A table of all the data you collected, including all trials, completely unchanged (if you included the average make sure you have all the trials too and don't write that the table is of 'raw data' because averaging is technically processing). Also include uncertainties and units in the table, and justify why you have used those uncertainties.

Processed Data Tables