New To IB Diploma. Struggling.

JaelaIsInIB

Hey guys, I'm Jaela.

I'm from Atlanta, Georgia and last year I made the spontaneous decision to apply for IB Diploma, and actually got chosen over people who I've always felt were way smarter than I am. But anyway, I've always been an average student. In elementary school I was an average student. I was more interested in having friends than like studying but I was always able to pull-off straight A's because I was in the gifted program and our work was always pretty easy. In middle school, it was pretty much the same until my depression kicked in. Then I was failing everything and honestly didn't care. My freshman year of high school I was struggling with my anxiety and depression and ended up being in a hospital for a while because I couldn't cope. My 10th grade year was absolutely amazing. I made the honor roll with straight A's in every class, and decided to apply for IB because I needed a challenge. The only issue was my attendance record. I was missing school at least once or twice a week because I was tired or depressed. Some how, I still managed to get into IB Diploma which was really exciting.

When I started school this year I was so incredibly excited, until I actually entered my first period which is IB Physics HL. My teacher gets very distracted and doesn't exactly answer question thoroughly, so we don't really learn much. I have an A in that class because I seem to do really well on labs and test, even though I don't know much about the material. I'm really worried that I'm going to fail this exam because of this, but hopefully I wont. I plan on studying really hard.