Visual Arts -- No Idea What To Do

CKenny

So, I'm in my second year of IB Art HL. Last year I had a teacher who didn't know how to teach IB Art and never even ended up going to IB training, so neither of us really knew what I was supposed to be doing. I was also the only one who took the class, so I didn't have any support from people who'd taken it before. I only completed 7 pieces, and my workbook was less than impressive. This year, I have a teacher who has minimal experience with teaching IB Art, isn't so sure exactly what I should be doing, either, and has admitted that he doesn't really want to be teaching the class. While I can read a lot of rubrics and know what I'm going to be graded on, I don't really understand the expectations and I was wondering whether someone experienced could help? A few things I'm not sure of:

How many pieces am I expected to make throughout the year?

When I sumbit pages from my workbook, should I submit single pages that are nice even if they don't go together or should I submit whole entries?

What will an examiner be looking for when he/she comes?

One of the people who left IB Art last year when the former teacher left and the teacher I had came tried to convince me to take a different HL this year, but I was stubborn and decided that I wanted to stick with it. I really don't want to be proved wrong, here.

Thanks for reading!

HL should be producing around 18-20 pieces I believe. Aim for 20.

The workbook doesn't necessarily have to show pages that are directly linked, just show the ones that show depth to your artwork, the media, different techniques, etc.

The art course no longer has an examiner come to the school, and instead you can either be interviewed by your teacher and record it or write an essay about your work, like an extension of your art statement.

To be honest, what you have to do is dedicate a lot of time and effort in making artwork that has depth.