Hello, I'm new here...

IBnJamSandwich

Hi, I'm a Year 1 IB student from Ontario, Canada, and I'm seriously struggling, if not totally depressed and want to give up on everything lol.

I don't have a time-management problem, I plan out my time after school for each subject and achieve it for the most part. I also take occasional breaks and hang out on YouTube or Twitter or Tumblr or something like that so that I'm not too overwhelmed. I hand in my assignments on time and I understand the concepts pretty well. But I still feel like I should be doing way better. Here are my marks so far:

SL Biology: 4

SL French: 5

HL Math: 4

SL Geography: 6

Am I doing okay? Especially for Biology and Math? I feel like I should be doing better, and I'm getting super-stressed here. Is this normal?

Thanks!

Edited by musicvip78
  • Like 1

Yes, happens to everyone at the start. It is an overwhelming and over-demanding program, and that is why many institution value it.

For the first year i had almost the same marks as you, but i have to warn you that this is a mistake i have made, and i should have been serious since the beginning of IB, especially in Math HL, i advise you to focus on your maths as you will get in serious mess if you don't start taking care of it right now. Try your best and don't stress yourself this much, but i urge you to be more engaged as the second year of IB is definitely nerve wrecking.

Again, i suggest you focus on math HL, you will become overwhelmed next year if you don't start studying it.

Good luck, hope it helps. Message me if you need any advise!

• Like 1

Cheer up! I'd say that's not a bad start, your grades aren't that low either.