Several questions on Group 6 in general

Guest NapWar

Guest NapWar

Hey guys, I've never really done an Arts subject in my life, be it music or theatre, but the idea of learning one really interests me! Being completely new to this though, I have several questions.

1) How do colleges in the US view Arts subjects? Would the top tier schools prefer you to have gone with a subject in another group? Also, is there a particularly respected subject in the group?

2) As a complete beginner to anything related to Art, which subject would be considered the easiest? Is it challenging to get a 7 in one? Do you recommend I go with another subject from a different group instead?

More to come with responses, probably! And any help is greatly appreciated :D

1. It depends on which course you want to apply for at uni. Group 6 subjects can look very good on your application but your subject selection must target the subject you want to study later on. For example if you want to do engineering (I'm talking about Ivy League) you have to have math physics and chemistry HL, therefore you can't have an art. On the other hand if you want study law the important thing is that you have subjects that develop your argumentative skills, once you have english HL and a social science having an art will make you loo like a well rounded person, which is always good. As you can see it really depends on what you want to study later on . In general it never hurts to have an art as long as your subject selection targets your chosen course. Art, music and theatre (not that much theatre actually) are the most respected subject.

2. There's no way you can take music or art if you're a beginner. Theatre is the easiest option. There is dance and film studies as well but they aren't seen as good subjects (except if you want to study film later on). If you are a complete beginner yes it would be challenging to get a 7 but it is doable.